Morgan Challenge

A one-make race series for Morgan sports cars

Congratulations to Keith Ahlers who has scored maximum points at every race and
wins the AR Motorsport Challenge!

Keith Ahlers Class A Plus 8
More on the News page

A full and varied grid at Castle Combe on 26th May
Photograph reproduced with the kind permission of Dominic House

Zandvoort start
Fun and games at the start of the Challenge race at Zandvoort on 3rd May
Photograph reproduced with the kind permission of Gunter Biener photography

The series continues to enjoy growth year on year with some of the largest grids and mix of Morgans that we've ever seen. There has been continued support by the traditional V8 and four cylinder powered cars plus the more modern V6 powered Roadsters and the superb new four cylinder +4SS and the new BabyDoll.

The series is open to all 4-wheeled Morgans and the championship is divided into several classes, encompassing both standard and modified cars, to encourage entries from as broad a spectrum of cars as possible.The increase in support for the 4 cylinder classes has encouraged more of these cars to enter.

It is well known for being friendly, welcoming and supportive of both new and seasoned competitors.

Grids throughout the 2014 season were well supported with an average of 30 cars and it is acknowledged to be one of the most successful one-make race series.

There are 10 championship rounds with the best 8 to count towards the Championship positions. Points are awarded to class winners, second, third and so on, with an extra point being awarded for the fastest lap in each class. This enables a quick and consistent driver from any class to become overall champion and win the coveted Peter Collins Tray at the end of the season. It also ensures that, although the overall race winner is likely to come from the highly modified and very quick cars in class A or B, the battles for class honours throughout the field should be just as hotly contested.

Helping hands in the paddock
Helping hands in the paddock at Assen in 2012
A full grid of Morgans in the last race of 2012 at Snetterton
A full grid of Morgans at Snetterton

There are around 60 registered competitors in the series: several have been racing in the Challenge since it began in 1985 and some are new drivers, either novices to the sport or who have migrated from other forms of motor sport or other race series. Some competitors drive to the circuit in their race cars on the day of the event, some overnight in a local B&B and others bring their cars on trailers behind motor homes. The variety of competitors is wide, both in age and occupations and we also currently have four lady drivers. The only qualifications you will need are to be enthusiastic and sporting; commitment ranges from fiercely competitive to laid-back. The Morgan racing fraternity is one of the most friendly race series around and if anyone has a problem with their car there is always a helping hand.


Welcome to the AR Motorsport Morgan Challenge, a one-make race series for racing Morgans, sponsored by AR Motorsport the performance arm of the Morgan Motor Company and supported by Yokohama Tyres.


Race Retro Show February

Morgans were represented by Richard Thorne and the Challenge had good coverage in a news report.
See News page

Snetterton 11th April

Regs and entry form on Calendar page

"Blow out the cobwebs" day

Friday 6th March at Snetterton.

Click here for details.

30th Anniversary!

In 2015 the Morgan Challenge will celebrate its 30th anniversary!
We have produced a bumper leaflet full of photos to mark the occasion.

Click here to read it

and here to visit the News page

Race dates for 2015
Click here for details
Jake Alderson's new Morgan book out now.
Click here for details
Just a reminder that the Morgan forum is there for all who are interested in what's going on and would like to contribute or make comments - serious or flippant. It is easy to register and fun to be part of so don't be shy - come and join us!
Click here to visit the forum.

The Aero Racing Morgan Challenge is a one-make race series for racing Morgans, sponsored by Aero Racing the performance arm of the Morgan Motor Company and supported by Yokohama Tyres.